“Even If” (Woman in Love)

Image
Woman in love by Henry Nelson

Even if you’re no longer the destination to submit myself to

I, within myself, keep flying towards you

Like it’s the only justification of me being intact without you

 

Even if your form & fragrance is not mine to hold like a treasure

My lips, in their pursuit of forbidden, drench your soul in their moistness,

Like it’s the only prayer, they’re obliged to utter when devoid of sustenance

 

Even if your name is no more but a relic of the days of yore,

My hands can fathom your tenderness in your disappearance,

Like it’s the only allegiance my senses are devoted to, madly, chastely

 

Even if time has broken the bridge we meant to cross as one soul

The infinity of yearning is sharp enough to carve a secret pathway within me

Like it’s the only road, my strides would worship long after death

 

Even if the promises are lost in the ruins of togetherness

They are sacred as forlorn temples, glorified in the tradition of desire

Like it’s the only understanding of the divine & desolated

 

Even if we are two bodies, pawns in the hand of destiny

I grant you my soul, pursuing you when you’re far away

Like it’s the only worship to atone for the sin of existing without you

 

The title of the poem is taken from Henry Nelson O’Neil’s painting “Woman in Love”. The poem is to express a defeated stance yet a determined soul of woman in love.

 

 

2 thoughts on ““Even If” (Woman in Love)

  1. Usman ghani

    Even if time has broken the bridge we meant to cross as one soul

    The infinity of yearning is sharp enough to carve a secret pathway within me

    Like it’s the only road, my strides would worship long after death

    Beautiful….

Leave a Reply

