“I Fear The Life Without You”

 

 

Your memory is a strange event

It trespasses every boundary, conscious or subconscious

A caress that never ceases to touch my cheek lovingly

A smile that keeps showering a sweet assurance upon me

A murmur comforting me out of the wretchedness of living

A happiness grips my very soul when I recall “us”

That once I’d you, not as a memory in teary eyes

Albeit as succour, a supplication, a physical reality

All those moments we shared our secrets, laughters & tears

All seem like opening their warm  arms for me

To have me seized by their exotic contentment

The contentment that’s become just a flicker, a brief taste now

In its place a grief a loneliness have me trembling, forever

A constant trembling meant for deeper shattering

Those jolts of ache, that nameless sharp pinch

Which cuts the passage of my breathing & seeps into my bones

The roads we walked on together

The places we explored together

The friendships we carved together

They torment me or they tend to me alternately

How & when you become my most feared & cherished thought?

That I fear no death, I fear the life without you.

Image

 

To the woman whose absence has yet to reveal the extent of void she left within me, for, still, I can’t measure it.

2 thoughts on ““I Fear The Life Without You”

Leave a Reply

