‘To Her’

‪In the wary crease above my brows 
The faded cheer of your caresses speaks 

Or is that your fresh water sparkling laugh, singing?

It cleans the sky for me

(You know, without you, the sky is blotchy & small)

I seem, now, to smile at stars

Their glow is borrowed from your forehead 

See, I know your address, now, My abundantly bright!

Clad in absolute layers of absence

You can elude me 

If it’s not for my soul 

(My soul lives in the clasp of your fragrance)

You crystallise me into a living mass of nostalgia

When my darkness gallops

Leaving me swallow its thorny silence

I drink from your memory 

I make a potion from your chosen endearments 

(you decorated me with your love)

Stains of your favourite lipstick, silk of your last worn scarf 

I squeeze familiarity from them all

And I let my lurking stranger self bathe in it

Slowly, I emerge from my tired pile to walk with life 

In the corpse white days of lingering by

I feel your shimmery hazel gaze

Curling around my anxiety 

And greying of my cheeks & hair

(Your eyes, nectar from heaven-flowers) 

I cease existing like a dead old leaf

I dodge the spy of winter & bitterness

I bloom into your darling moringa flower

There’s no tomb to bury my hunger for you 

My thirst for your love, mocks deserts

My peace can’t breathe without your bosom 

There’s no permanence for me 

I’m between your shadow & my pining for your skin


(For my beloved beloved mom; you’re as alive as I’m, maa)

Leave a Reply

